A Wooden Villa Speaks

The house talks to us when the sun comes out from behind clouds.

It stretches and creaks and breathes.

My creaking bones talk back, agreeing.

 

In an earthquake it shakes gracefully from side to side,

Taking its shelved books and bowls with it,

Cradled in its arms.

 

When I tell my grandson a story the house gathers round,  listening,

Especially if we sit  in that corner of the dining room

Where balls and marbles always end up –

 

except when the story is the Three Little Pigs.

 

The sash windows tremble when I mention the Big Bad Wolf.

And the house’s fear isn’t assuaged when I mention

The pot of boiling water on the stove in the brick house.

 

I know it fears those prim brick houses,

with their straights concrete paths,

Squat, square and now and increasingly  our neighbours.

wood-villa

7 thoughts on “A Wooden Villa Speaks

  1. Lovely to hear from you!

    Had a visit with Mere Whaanga in Mahia last week – she is off to Dunedin as W-I-R mid-Feb.

    16 Walter Road

    Lowry Bay

    Eastbourne 5013

    04 568 2125

    021 568 212

    From: Janice Marriott’s Year in Poetry Reply-To: Janice Marriott’s Year in Poetry Date: Fri, 6 Jan 2017 at 5:13 PM To: Ann Packer Subject: [New post] A Wooden Villa Speaks

    janicemarriott posted: “The house talks to us when the sun comes out from behind clouds. It stretches and creaks and breathes. My creaking bones talk back, agreeing. In an earthquake it shakes gracefully from side to side, Taking its shelved books and bowls with it, “

  2. Hi JaniceWhat a delightful surprise to find your new poem in my in box.  It is so interesting to see how you weaved the house and your grandson as well as the outside world into the poem.Thank you. Since I sent you the first garden module, I have revised almost everything I wrote.  I find there is always something to change and I need more editing skills, even though I took months to get it to you.  I hope you are well and easing into the New Year with renewed energy and inspiration.I am feeling stronger now that the first Anniversary of my husband`s death has been and gone. It was a big milestone, but all is well. Thanks again Janice.Ann Purchase

     

  3. Hello, Janice. I am afraid that I have not kept up with our bargain – you got back into poetry … and I didn’t. But, now I am writing poetry again, but not for assignment purposes. But you just never know. Lovely to see you posting here. I love your poetry. Amanda Edwards.

Leave a Reply

