Visitors

I open the door and they are there

Leaning into each others side,

Burnished, with smiles hip wide,

Soft as ripe pears.

 

I say, “come in. Come in.”

I give them tea and cakes – mine yours.

I want to peel their warm brown skins

To feel their white wet cores.

 

We dunk little cakes into our drinks,

Tilt into each others hair.

We giggle and gossip – he she me we.

Golden pyramid of pear.

 

Goodbye they say and off they go,

Leaning softly curve to curve,

Poised between right and not,

Between ripe and rot. Friends.

*

pears

One thought on “Visitors

  1. I really love this one Janice, the flirtation with rhymes that is informal and irregular. Smiles hip-wide…nice

Leave a Reply

