When the lights change

Today’s Herald was full of calamity and fear –
Typhoon, flood, wind and rain.
And what was that rumbling I heard?

I live among giants. One, many years ago,
Threw shed-sized boulders into my garden
From the volcano that squats above me.

Today at the Dominion Road traffic lights
I looked up and saw a cloud giant
Kneeling over the Auckland Meat Company building

Wearing dirty jeans tight across huge round knees –
Dark blue, purple, all the greys, blacks.
We stared at each other. Hurry up, lights!

Today’s Herald was full of calamity and fear –
Typhoon, flood, wind and rain.
And what was that rumbling I heard?

The lights changed and I escaped the dark shadow
And drove into the blue and scudding white
Away from typhoon, flood, wind and rain.

But how far can I drive from the fear?
And what is that rumbling I hear?

Typhoon, flood, wind or rain?

*IMG_1135

Leave a Reply

