Seek And Ye Shall Find

My eye, a squirming snail pierced in its shell,

Shrinks back from glaring light

Coming at me from above, beside, below – can’t tell.

The corridor too long, too hard, too bright.

Which is ceiling? Which is floor?

I am marooned amongst an infinity of doors.

Then one swings wide. A shout.

Coming through, Grandma! Look out!

I lean forward, taking care.

Tigers, he says. Hiding, over there!

A glimpse through swollen lids.

He’s twitching drapes round beds in the ward.

Not here, he says, and runs to a window.

Not there, I say. Too glary.

Too scary, he says, hugging me tight.

Toooo scary. His voice trills with delight.

And so I progress,

Creeping slowly, led by his hand.

Along the straight and scary

Hard and glary lino path

We hunt tigers in long grass.

*

4 thoughts on “Seek And Ye Shall Find

  1. This sounds serious Janice. Thinking of you.

    From: Janice Marriott’s Year in Poetry Reply-To: Janice Marriott’s Year in Poetry Date: Monday, 26 August 2013 2:06 PM To: Ann Packer Subject: [New post] Seek And Ye Shall Find

    WordPress.com janicemarriott posted: “My eye, a squirming snail pierced in its shell, Shrinks back from glaring light Coming at me from above, beside, below cant tell. The corridor too long, too hard, too bright. Which is ceiling? Which is floor? I am marooned amongst an inf”

  2. Dear Janice. I have just read your latest poem – it has not made it here yet. I am so inspired by your writing, and I hope that every day is brighter for you and you are feeling more like your normal self again. Aroha nui, Amanda.

Leave a Reply

